Jesus Alone Brings Beauty

(Photo Credit: Adam Loewen, Malaga, Spain 2007)

The truth about our human hearts… they are sinful. Not many people like to hear this in America. We like to think that somehow we have beautiful, kind hearts, always selfless, always looking out for others’ interests, never prideful, always humble and deserving of everyone’s praise. But if we look at Scripture, the truth about God, and the truth about us, then we are humbled to our rightful position. Of course, we were created in God’s image and that was GOOD, but when sin entered the world, our relationship with God was broken and, thus, the reason for our sinful hearts (Genesis 3). It is a means of God’s merciful kindness to allow us to see this truth so that we can fully walk in redemptive grace. Let’s look at the Scriptures below, receive the truth, consider our former ways of thinking, and come in repentance to God who in His mercy has chosen to reveal this truth for our joy and His glory! Receiving the truth of God brings freedom beyond words!

1. We all have hearts that are broken and sinful:
The heart is deceitful above all things, and desperately sick; who can understand it? |Jeremiah 17:9|

2. Only God is good:
What then? Are we Jews any better off? No, not at all. For we have already charged that all, both Jews and Greeks, are under sin, as it is written:
“None is righteous, no, not one;
no one understands;
no one seeks for God.
All have turned aside; together they have become worthless;
no one does good,
not even one.”
“Their throat is an open grave;
they use their tongues to deceive.”
“The venom of asps is under their lips.”
“Their mouth is full of curses and bitterness.”
“Their feet are swift to shed blood;
in their paths are ruin and misery,
and the way of peace they have not known.”
“There is no fear of God before their eyes.”
|Romans 3:9-18|

3. God is RECREATING us; God is the Master Artisan:
For we are his workmanship, created in Christ Jesus for good works, which God prepared beforehand, that we should walk in them. |Ephesians 2:10|

But now that you have been set free from sin and have become slaves of God, the fruit you get leads to sanctification and its end, eternal life. |Romans 6:22|

4. God cares for His children:
You search out my path and my lying down and are acquainted with all my ways.
|Psalm 139:3|

I bless the LORD who gives me counsel; in the night also my heart instructs me. I have set the LORD always before me; because he is at my right hand, I shall not be shaken. Therefore my heart is glad, and my whole being rejoices; my flesh also dwells secure. For you will not abandon my soul to Sheol, or let your holy one see corruption. You make known to me the path of life; in your presence there is fullness of joy; at your right hand are pleasures forevermore. |Psalm 16:7-11|

Jesus, the Master Artisan, is recreating us into His image if we are truly reborn.

Therefore, if anyone is in Christ, he is a new creation. The old has passed away; behold, the new has come. |2 Corinthians 5:17|

This gives us great hope! God redeems us from our brokenness. He is the Potter, we are the clay. Through the power of the Holy Spirit illuminating the Scriptures to our hearts and minds, we are transformed and molded into what God, the Potter, wants to make us.

And we all, with unveiled face, beholding the glory of the Lord, are being transformed into the same image from one degree of glory to another. For this comes from the Lord who is the Spirit.
|2 Corinthians 3:18|

Though our hearts are dark and sinful, His redemptive love and righteousness can be ours.

I have been crucified with Christ. It is no longer I who live but Christ who lives in me. And the life I now live in the flesh I live by faith in the Son of God, who loved me and gave himself for me. |Galatians 2:2o|

May the incredible love of Christ be yours, filling your heart with indescribable beauty that overflows to the world around you!

Leave a Reply

