Learning the Art of Writing

I have been a writer since I was a child. I would take my looseleaf lined paper and a pencil, sit on the family room couch and write short stories about animals, their homes, their adventures. One of my first characters was “Ronny Raccoon”. I still have that story and all my other writings, papers, books in a storage box in my closet! I also would take a tape recorder and set up my stuffed animals to record audio stories. The creative life is something I have embraced since I was very young. And perhaps that’s why, now in the digital age, I have already tried out several blogs, taken breaks, and then always started up something new… why? Because I can’t NOT write. Words, ideas, expression have all taken form in my journals, short stories, poems, songwriting, and blogging. I must write, which is one of the reasons I started up this most recent blog.

I still have much to learn in the area of creative writing. Here is a list of a few articles that are good little tips and reminders to aid in the pursuit of better writing.

Seven Basic & Brief Pointers for Writers

Writer, Interrupted

The Power of Morning Pages

Writing to Remember

Read books, read articles, read blogs, and read blogs on a variety of topics like travel, food, parenting, decorating, music, history! Expand your knowledge base, educate your mind, enrich your life! WRITE!

One thought on “Learning the Art of Writing

  1. Great post!
    I also can’t seem to keep myself from writing. I recently took a class on the Philosophy of Mind and Cognition and learned that thought generally comes in or two forms, depending on the cognitive abilities of the brain. Some people think in terms of images and symbols and some people think in terms of words; I definitely fit the category of a word-thinker (and I’m proud of it!) I sometimes feel that my thoughts are nothing more than a series of rough drafts. It’s nice to know I’m not alone!

Leave a Reply

