Imagination in Reading ~ Julie Andrews

Growing up, I loved watching Mary Poppins and The Sound of Music both featuring whimsical and jubilant characters played by actress Julie Andrews. I even remember writing out “supercalifragilisticexpialidotious” so that I could memorize that phrase and “wow” my friends!

Anyways, our family loves to read! I just stumbled across a quote from Julie Andrews and I would love to share it with you:

As a child I read anything and everything I could get my hands on. There was no greater joy for me than to curl up with a good read. Books transported me— away from war, into the realm of my imagination and to other worlds and ideas. They instilled in me a powerful sense of wonder. To quote the legendary Helen Hayes, ‘From your parents you learn love and laughter and how to put one foot in front of the other. But when books are opened you discover you have wings.’ …

It is an awesome responsibility to write for young people, for I am always aware that they face more choices today and have to make more difficult decisions than I have ever known. In this media-driven world of sound bites, lightning-fast imagery, video games, and‘reality’ TV, I worry that we are spoon-feeding a steady diet of ‘manufactured’ slices of life to our children, so that all they have to do is receive rather than participate in any way.

The joy of reading is that it asks us to use our imaginations…and therefore we engage, and play an active role in our experiences. And I can think of no better way for young people to discover their passions, their values, their world, and their own places in it than through the portal of a wonderful book.

Source: The Julie Andrews Collection

One thought on “Imagination in Reading ~ Julie Andrews

  1. Thank you for the “quote” from a person I admired – Ms. Julie Andrews. I am a Certified Public Accountant from the Philippines and have been teaching Accounting for years slready. I also love to read not only Accounting books but also literary pieces, short stories, etc. Ms. Julie Andrews is really very talented and very creative in writing. She can combine simple words yet the effect is very scholarly. I just stumbled about her Sound of Music movie when I took the IELTS this January, 2011. I was in the process of choosing films with “British” accents then.
    This article is composed of only 3 paragraphs yet very great and informative. Yes, I think we have been spoon feeding our children that they don’t take part, they just “receive” and push buttons.
    I may have to copy this article and include in my collections from various authors…
    Thanks…

Leave a Reply

